Recent Searches
Clear

Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau

|
Badge of Excellence
|
Queenstown, New Zealand
Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau
Likely to Sell OutLikely to Sell Out

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 12 hours  (approx.)
iconOffered in: English and 7 more

Overview

Travel to the Tasman Sea on a Milford Sound cruise aboard the ‘Milford Mariner’, 'Milford Sinbad', or ‘Milford Wanderer.’ Pass by the world-renowned Mitre Peak and drift alongside rushing waterfalls as you search for wildlife including New Zealand fur seals, dolphins, and Fiordland-crested penguins. An onboard nature specialist provides expert commentary. Hotel pickup and drop-off are available from Milford Sound, Queenstown, and Te Anau by luxury coach.
  • Milford Sound cruise with transport from Queenstown or Te Anau
  • Cruise the length of the UNESCO-listed fiord
  • Motor past Mitre Peak and cascading falls en route to the Tasman Sea
  • Hear expert live commentary from a naturalist guide
  • Keep a lookout for penguins, dolphins, and fur seals
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off by luxury coach available
Saved to wishlist!
All Fees and Taxes
Hot drinks
Live commentary on board (English only) - interpretation handouts available in German, Spanish, Portuguese, French, Chinese, Korean, Japanese and Thai
Air-conditioned vehicle
Free WIFI (on coach, where there is reception)
Alcoholic drinks (available to purchase)
Lunch (but available at extra cost)
  • 88 Beach Street , 88 Beach Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand

    RealNZ Queenstown, Please arrive 15 minutes before scheduled departure time. Please contact our customer service team if you wish to organise a pick-up from a bus stop close to your hotel/accommodation.

  • RealNZ - Te Anau Visitor Centre , 85 Lakefront Drive, Te Anau 9640, New Zealand

    Real Journeys Visitor Centre. Please arrive 15 minutes before scheduled departure time.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Operates in all weather conditions
    • Please dress appropriately
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Infants must sit on laps
    • Infants must still be allocated a ticket
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • Most travelers can participate
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 135 travelers
    • OPERATED BY RealNZ
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau ?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    See all safety measures taken by Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau .
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau ?
    A:The policy on staff health & safety is:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    See all safety measures taken by Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau .

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "Take a jacket, it can be cold even in summer." See review
    • "Boat allowed for indoor/outdoor experience per customer preference-but go outside!" See review
    • "It rained for part of the trip, but there's plenty of indoor seating." See review

    Reviews

    5.0
    star-5
    77 Reviews
    1 star
    0

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-10 of 77 reviews
    star-5
    Day trip of a lifetime
    Shannon_H
    , May 2022
    Te Anau to Milford Sound bus trip and boat tour is fantastic. Great commentary and spectacular views. The cruise is just amazing I highly recommend doing this!
    icon Response from Host , May 2022
    Thank you for your amazing review! Taking the coach from Te Anau allows you to admire all the scenery not only in Milford Sound but on the whole journey on the road as well.
    star-5
    Amazing
    Josphes_S
    , Mar 2022
    For me it the tour on the bus it was amazing and all the knowledge and stories that the tour guide/bus driver told us really made that experience extra special plus the stops
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Great to hear that you enjoyed the drivers commentary along the way and you also noticed they know the best places to stop for those perfect photos. Thank you for your review.
    star-5
    Worth Every Cent
    PHILIP_P
    , Mar 2022
    Wonderful fine sunny day on the Sound. Great commentary about facts & figures of surrounding area on bus as well as onboard cruise. A stress free day i highly recommend.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    You were very lucky to get a sunny day in Milford Sound. Sounds like you did you did it the right way - by catching the coach it allows for a stress free day and more time to take photos! Thank you for your review.
    star-5
    An awesome day out.
    Michael_A
    , Jan 2022
    A fantastic day out starting from the bus pick up in Te Anau. Breathtaking views all day, the bus driver was fun and informative. The cruise in Milford was spectacular. We loved the whole experience and would recommend it to anyone.
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Thank you for your review. We highly recommend the coach into Milford as it allows more time to focus on the scenery while someone else does the driving.
    star-5
    Very excellent trip my family really enjoyed
    Priya_S
    , Jan 2022
    Trip was really enjoyed, tour guide was excellent well explained on the way.we all enjoyed the beauty of Milford. Would recommend everyone for this trip
    icon Response from Host , Apr 2022
    Great to hear that you enjoyed the beauty of Milford Sound and you enjoyed the tour guides commentary on the way. Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
    star-2
    The tour is rushed and it didnt help that the bus driver/tour guide was not nice to us. He was inconsiderate.
    Tey_L
    , Jul 2021
    The cruise to Milford Sound was great but the driver/tour guide of the bus was inconsiderate. The trip was rushed but we understand the tight schedule but he made the experience uncomfortable with his unplesant attitude.
    star-5
    Brilliant
    Kerry_R
    , Dec 2020
    the whole day was brilliant. early start but well worth it. Our bus driver was really informative. The boat trip was the nest part, fantastic views,
    star-5
    Awsome
    Kerry_R
    , Nov 2020
    The boat was huge the waterfalls were really awesome and getting right under them. Was great .commentary excellent
    star-5
    Bloody good
    Kerry_R
    , Nov 2020
    Great trip our guide was excellent love the boat ride The waterfall were great The boat was really big
    star-5
    Great experience!
    Anna_B
    , Mar 2020
    The route and the sites were wonderful, and lasted longer than I expected. It rained for part of the trip, but there's plenty of indoor seating. There are various levels and platforms to enjoy this tour.
    star-5
    Beautiful
    NICOLETTE_T
    , Mar 2020
    Milford Sound is absolutely gorgeous! We had a great guide with terrific jokes – thanks Deano! Just note that it is quite a long bus ride from Queenstown to Milford Sound.
    star-5
    Surpassed Expectations
    Beverly_M
    , Mar 2020
    The drive and boat trip were unforgettable; hundreds of waterfalls. Of course it was raining, but that made all the waterfalls possible. So go rain or shine.
    star-4
    Stunning views
    ktaylormartin
    , Jan 2020
    Fabulous trip. Take a jacket, it can be cold even in summer. Only issue, there is only one road in and one road out. There was an accident in the tunnel so our tour couldn’t get out. We opted for the flight back to Queenstown. Best option! I didn’t find our tour guide Deano knowledgeable but when we were stranded at Milford Sound, he was so experienced and knew what to do.
    star-5
    Nice boat, nice tour!
    Robert_S
    , Jan 2020
    The cruise was nice. Great food was available. The narrator did a good job -- as we were passing particular areas of interest, he provided a good description. We learned much!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2020
    Thank you so much for your informative feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Hopefully you visit again soon. Great you enjoyed the nature guide - I agree lots of interesting insights with all of their knowledge on the area.
    star-5
    Organized and well-run!
    Indu_P
    , Jan 2020
    Free taxi brought us to meeting point from hotel. Easy check in process. Friendly, kind, and safe tour bus driver. Comfortable bus-don’t forget to pack a lunch to save some $$! Boat allowed for indoor/outdoor experience per customer preference-but go outside! And dress for wind/cold on the water.
    star-5
    Amazing Day
    Timothy M
    , Nov 2019
    Got picked up from Te Anau and an amazing drive out to Milford Sound. Great narration, plenty of stops and then a wonderful cruise. It had been raining the past couple of days so the sounds had lots of mini-waterfalls which was a unique experience.
    star-5
    Milford Sound
    Angela_H
    , Oct 2019
    The tour was excellent and we felt we were taken care of very well. Milford Sound and the environment on the way there is just such a wonderful part of this earth.
    star-5
    Great activity
    Larisa_T
    , Oct 2019
    The location is great and the landscapes are amazing. The comments along the way were really interesting and the boat was driven very carefully so we can have really nice showers under the waterfalls and nice photo shoots.
    star-5
    I was hesitant to take a tour but I...
    Joanne K
    , Nov 2017
    I was hesitant to take a tour but I don’t regret it at all. It was fabulous from beginning to end. So much more interesting than had we just driven ourselves. The glass roof bus was perfect and the driver and guide had a lot interesting info. There were a few stops on the way allowing photo opportui
    star-5
    This tour was well organized and a...
    Angela M
    , Jul 2017
    This tour was well organized and a good value. The coach ride was enjoyable because the bus was designed with windows in the roof of the bus and this allowed passengers to take in all of the scenery. The boat tour of Milford Sound was also enjoyable--it was clean and it was nice to be able to go inside to warm up. I am very happy I did this tour.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau
    Likely to Sell Out
    Milford Sound Cruise from Queenstown or Te Anau

    star-577

    2 to 12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $92.92

    star-5757

    13 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $143.06

    star-57

    3 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $40.11

    star-4.5272

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $139.72

    star-4.5110

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $153.09

    star-564

    12 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $139.72

    star-4.5404

    12 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $119.66

    star-4.522

    12 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $119.66

    star-512

    13 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $166.46

    Explore Similar Things to Do