Recent Searches
Clear

Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour

star-4.5189 Reviews
|
Badge of Excellence
|
Milford, New Zealand
Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


Safety measures
icon2 to 12 hours  (approx.)
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English

Overview

Enjoy uninterrupted views of glacier-carved cliffs on a Milford Sound cruise aboard the Maiden of Milford, a 3-deck vessel. This sightseeing cruise through one of the South Island’s most stunning natural wonders takes you past vivid waterfalls to frolicking dolphins and New Zealand fur seals. Meet at the pier or opt for a round-trip coach tour of UNESCO-listed Fiordland National Park from Queenstown, and stop for photographs and some short nature walks en route to Milford Sound.
  • Travel by coach through beautiful Fiordland National Park (if option selected)
  • Admire stunning landscapes and glacial scenery at one of the world’s most scenic locations
  • Spot New Zealand seals relaxing on the rocks
  • See the splash of waterfalls cascading from an ancient rainforest
Saved to wishlist!
2-hour sightseeing cruise
Complimentary tea and coffee
Live commentary on board
Air Conditioned Coach (if coach tour selected)
Lunch, drinks and snacks (available to purchase)
  • JUCY Cruise Milford Sound , Milford Sound Visitor Centre (Terminal and Boat Harbour, 1 Milford Sound Highway, Milford 9679, New Zealand

    If self driving to Milford Sound, check in for the cruise is 25 minutes before departure. The check in desk is on the right hand side as you enter the terminal. Please note that parking at Milford Sound is charged at $20 for 5 hours.

  • Athol Street , Athol Street, Queenstown 9300, New Zealand

    The bus stop in the centre of Athol Street is the central pick up point for the coach tours from Queenstown. **There are other pick up locations available so please contact the local operator to confirm your pick up point and time**

  • Kiwi Country , 63 Town Centre, Te Anau 9600, New Zealand

    The central pick up in Te Anau is the bus stop at Kiwi Country Cafe, Miro Street, Te Anau at 10:15am.

  • This activity will end right where it started.
    For the cruise-only option step aboard the 3-deck vessel and enjoy a scenic cruise along the spectacular Milford Sound. Admire towering mountains, vertical cliffs and hanging valleys. Feel the spray from the waterfalls that cascade from an ancient rain forest high in the mountains and look out for New Zealand fur seal colonies and dolphins swimming nearby.

    Your scenic cruise meanders past Mitre Peak and as you navigate the length of Milford Sound to the Tasman Sea, let the scenery transport you back to a time of magical wilderness with its towering mountains, vertical cliffs and hanging valleys.

    Before your cruise takes you back to the bay, learn about the local flora and fauna and hear some fascinating history and Maori legends from your expert guide.

    If you upgrade for an additional coach tour to Milford Sound, you’re picked up from the closest bus stop to your hotel in Queenstown. Take a journey through the Fiordland National Park, listening to informative narration about the stunning scenery, and stop along the way to take photographs and do some short nature walks. 

    Discover the optical illusion of the Avenue of Disappearing Mountains, which seem to sink into the surrounding beech forest. View Hollyford Valley and the Darran Mountains before entering the Homer Tunnel, and snap photos of majestic Mt. Tutoko, Fiordland National Park’s highest and most glaciated peak.

    After the cruise, relax on board the coach, whilst we take you back to your pick up location.
    Itinerary
    Stop At:  
    Fiordland National Park
    Join one of New Zealand's most stunning scenic drives along the Milford highway, through the Eglington Valley and into the heart of Fiordland National Park. If coach option is selected, our experienced driver guides will share their extensive local knowledge on the myths, legends, flora and fauna relating to their beautiful backyard. Numerous stops are made along the journey for those all important scenic photos, as well as opportunities for short nature walks, encountering native wildlife, stunning natural rain forest, and glacier carved Alpine vistas. Cross the halfway point between the equator and the South Pole, see stunning views over Hollyford Valley and the Darran Mountains before entering the Homer Tunnel and descending into lush rainforest canyons.
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    Stop At:  
    Milford Sound
    Climb aboard a modern and spacious catamaran and immerse yourself in some of the world’s most breathtaking scenery. Relax on our spacious viewing decks as you get up close and personal with luxuriant rain forests, cascading waterfalls and Fiordland's famous flora and fauna. The cruise travels the length of Milford Sound and out to the Tasman Sea where we can show passengers why Captain Cook failed to discover Milford Sound after charting all the other fiords of Fiordland National Park. Our famously friendly skipper and crew are on hand to share their wealth of local secrets, assist in those all important photos, and to join you for a refreshing glacial shower underneath the pristine Stirling Falls!
    Duration: 2 hours 
    Admission Ticket Free
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Not wheelchair accessible
    • Stroller accessible
    • Most travelers can participate
    • Please ensure that a car seat or suitable restraint is brought for all passengers 4 years and under travelling on the coach to ensure their safety and safety of others
    • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travelers
    • OPERATED BY JUCY Cruise Milford Sound
    You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
    • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
    • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
    • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
    • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
    • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.

    Learn more about cancellations.

    The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
    Q:
    What is the policy on sanitization during Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour?
    A:The policies on sanitization are:

    • Hand sanitizer available to travelers and staff
    • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
    • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
    See all safety measures taken by Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour.
    Q:
    What is the social distancing policy during Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour?
    A:The policy on social distancing is:

    • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
    See all safety measures taken by Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour.
    Q:
    What measures are being taken to ensure staff health & safety during Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour?
    A:The policies on staff health & safety are:

    • Guides required to regularly wash hands
    • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
    See all safety measures taken by Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour.

    Traveler Photos

    See More
    See More

    Traveler Tips


    • "Great trip just a long bus journey, which can’t be helped." See review

    Reviews

    4.5
    star-4.5
    189 Reviews

    Reviews by Viator travelers

    Showing 1-10 of 189 reviews
    star-1
    Dodgy company with scam operator
    Riffat_S
    , Jan 2022
    This is a dodgy company. They have taken my money without my consent. Later on, they refered to the tour operrator Jucy saying that some one has done it on my behalf. Even after informing them about this scam, they did not return my money.
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Kia Ora Riffat, We are sorry to hear that you feel you have been swindled by a ''dodgy'' company, but as discussed by phone, we are not a scam operator and nor have we taken your money without your consent. There is no way for us to do this, as we have no access to your credit card details given you have booked via a third party platform. This statement is quite hurtful and damaging to us, especially as we pride ourselves on being a very honest company with excellent customer service as per most recent reviews below. Again, as discussed by phone, you have been fully refunded by Viator / TripAdvisor as per your request and we have not taken any money from you as you did not travel with us. We would ask that you kindly do not make such harmful and untrue accusations which are detrimental to our reputation, especially when we have complied with your requests and cooperated fully. Best wishes, Kate
    1 traveler found this review helpful
    star-5
    Exceptional!
    Tiffany_D
    , Dec 2021
    The staff are incredibly knowledgeable! Awesome bus ride in with running commentary by our driver who seemed to be an expert in biology, zoology, botany, geography, history and expressed all facts with impressive stats! Then the boat tour staff continued to impress us with more amazing knowledge. The skipper was so enthusiastic about his corner of the world and clearly seemed to know it like the back of his hand. He was engaging and fun. I left knowing so much more about this area and will recommend Pure to everyone-well done guys!
    icon Response from Host , Jan 2022
    Kia Ora Tiffany, Thanks for choosing to journey through Fiorland with us, and for taking the time to share this wonderful review. We have quite a team of Fiordland enthusiasts and experts who love to share their local knowledge and insight so we are thrilled they helped you to learn more about the area. It's a pretty spectacular place, and one we feel privileged to call home! We are so stoked you will be recommending us, and hope you join us again for another visit, Best wishes, Kate
    star-5
    We had the best...
    Cristina_M
    , Nov 2021
    We had the best experience. From the coach ride to the cruise. Our coach rider was the best. The cruise staff were full of fun as well. That's just an addition to the magical sceneries.
    icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
    Kia Ora Cristina, Thank you for joining our Coach & Cruise day tour to Milford Sound, and for sharing your wonderful feedback with us. We are thrilled to hear it was an amazing experience from start to finish. The journey is just as spectacular as the destination in this case, and combined with our super special staff, makes the day a "WOW'' from beginning to end! We really appreciate your kind support and hope to see you on your next adventure into Milford Sound! Best wishes, Kate
    star-5
    Wonderful cruise
    Isabella_D
    , Nov 2021
    We had a wonderful time on the Milford Sound cruise - the operators showed us some wonderful sights and got very close to the waterfalls and wildlife. They also had great knowledge of the cliffs, glaciers and animals.
    icon Response from Host , Nov 2021
    Kia Ora Isabella, Thanks for choosing us for your Milford Sound adventure and for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback. Awesome news that got to experience the very best of Milford's waterfalls, wildlife, history and local insight through our two hour cruise. Milford Sound is entirely different on every day, so we do hope you come back and join us again another time! Best wishes, Kate
    star-5
    Amazing, amazing amazing.
    Margaret_D
    , Dec 2020
    Informative bus driver and boat skipper. Small group. Amazing scenery. Boat stoped often at interesting places, crew were amazing. Cheese board and wine to top it off.
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    Kia Ora Margaret, Thanks for choosing JUCY Cruise for your Milford Sound adventure and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Overall smaller numbers make for some very intimate and personalised tours with our famously friendly skipper, drivers and crew so we are thrilled you had such an enjoyable trip. It's hard to top that scenery with a glass of wine in hand and a cheeseboard to graze on too :-) We really appreciate your kind words, and would love to welcome you back to Milford again soon, Best wishes, Kate
    star-5
    Fantastic!!
    Jewelia2711
    , Nov 2020
    A fantastic trip that everyone should make at least once in their life. Incredible scenery. Great guides too - Wayne was fantastic! Highly recommend this tour!
    icon Response from Host , Aug 2021
    Kia Ora Jewelia, Thanks for joining our day trip with the wonderful Wayne, and for sharing this lovely 5* review. We absolutely agree that Milford Sound is a must see at least once in a life time, but once is never enough ;-) The stunning scenery changes by the minute - guaranteeing it to be different every time! We really appreciate your recommendation to others, and hope to welcome you to Milford Sound again, Best wishes, Kate
    star-3
    poor viator coordination
    Dennis_G
    , Mar 2020
    the bus ride was long but interesting. saw sights we may have missed if we had driven ourselves had the road been open. I'm most critical of Viators poor handling of our trip arrangements. Viator never informed us out 0945 tour was cancelled. If the great people at Jucy counter hadn't informed us that we had been rebooked we would have never known. sorry but can't give Viator any thing more than a damn poor review. doubt we will use your company again and will warn family and friends.
    star-4
    AMAZING
    Truedell_W
    , Mar 2020
    We decided to go on the coach and cruise tour,our driver and guide was great giving us history of the towns and places we drove through.It was a long day and if you have the chance I would fly back to Queenstown.Milford Sound is stunning and we had the sunshine all day.
    star-5
    Really everything
    Linda_B
    , Mar 2020
    Absolutely loved the coach trip down with juicy coaches then the boat trip was unbelievable We chose the option to fly back home from Milford sounds with southern omg it was in readable
    star-4
    Milford Sounds
    Lauren_S
    , Feb 2020
    Great trip just a long bus journey, which can’t be helped. Driver very knowledgeable and informative great photo stops along the way too.
    star-5
    Awesome Milford Sound
    vburgsteden
    , Jan 2020
    We took our tour from Te Anau which made the travel time in the bus shorter. Our driver was great giving us stops to enjoy the beautiful scenery and lots of history. Cruise into Milford Sound was jaw dropping. A great day.
    star-4
    Lovely sights
    Vivian Y
    , Jan 2020
    The bus tour included many stops to take pictures along the way and the cruise went through the beautiful Milford Sound. The included lunch was fairly unimpressive.
    star-5
    Great location and well organised tour
    Mansi H
    , Dec 2019
    Milford Sounds is by far the best place that we have visited in New Zealand. We were lucky enough to be visiting Milford sounds after rain as a result, there were a number of waterfalls with plenty of water. We enjoyed the bus drive as well as cruise. Thanks to JUCY for a great experience.
    star-4
    Milford sounds in rainy day
    Abdolhossein_K
    , Dec 2019
    It was rainy day and not best weather condition However Jucy ground stuff were rather helpful and friendly
    star-5
    An amazing experience
    Elisabeth_N
    , Jul 2018
    I did the Milford Sound cruise in July and fortunately had an extremely sunny day ! The 12-hour trip can seem a bit long but in fact, it is 100% worth it. The driver was great and we drove through the most beautiful landscapes I have ever seen. There were a lot of stops for photo opportunities which is definitely a plus. Milford Sound was breathtaking and the cruise enabled me to take some amazing photos. I recommend this day-tour to anyone who would like to see one of the most beautiful places on earth ! Moreover, the bus was really good and confortable for this journey.
    star-5
    Beautiful area of the world. Long...
    Jon C
    , Feb 2018
    Beautiful area of the world. Long day of 12 hours on curvy roads but our driver kept good narration and lovely stops along the route to the sound. Other tours offered a small lunch box while on the cruise called High Tea. Our driver was able to find us two lunches when two others didn't make the trip. Viator should include this in their trip. A highlight of our 3 weeks in New Zealand. So glad we chose this tour.
    star-4
    Very long trip- I wish the booking...
    Amanda_B
    , Jan 2018
    Very long trip- I wish the booking warned about this. I didn't realize it would be a 12-hour day from Queenstown. Milford Sound was beautiful. The weather left more to be desired but we have no control over these things! While it was 80 degrees in Queenstown, Milford Sound was much cooler and rainier. We had a quick 30-minute lunch break in Te Anau. Pitas were available for purchase on the cruise. On the way back, we only had a 15-minute stop at Te Anau, so not much time for food and bathroom. I recommend packing snacks.
    star-4
    The bus driver/tour guide was very...
    Jennifer L
    , Nov 2017
    The bus driver/tour guide was very knowledgeable about the area, we very much enjoyed his commentary during the drive to Milford Sound! The bus was a bit crammed and did not have the glass ceiling that other tours offer hard to figure out from the available documentation provided. The boat was fine, a Pita Pit and a small coffee shop inside for food/drive if you feel like purchasing or a small stand of hot water/tea bags for free. The Sound was BEAUTIFUL! We unfortunately didn't get to see any whales, but we did see some seals and some teeeeeny tiny penguins way off in the distance! It was a rainy/drizzly/overcast day, obviously not the tour company's fault, so all in all we enjoyed the trip. We sprang for the propeller flight back to Queenstown, which was freaking AMAZEBALLS. I think it was the best part! The views are just so awe-inspiring, we knew it would be a once-in-a-lifetime type of experience, so we dug deep in our pocketbooks for the chance. I did not find this information when I was searching, so just FYI: The tour bus picked us up at about 8am or thereabouts. We arrived at the pier for the boat tour around 3pm and the boat tour finished around 5pm. The bus would not have returned us back to Queenstown until well after 10pm! That includes various photo stops on the way in and a VERY short break at a fairly expensive rest stop to quickly grab a snack both on the way in and the way out. Because we took the flight back rather than the bus, we got back to Queenstown just after 6pm. About 20 of the reason we paid for the flight was just to save ourselves 5 hours of bus time!
    star-5
    We had a humorous, witty and...
    Lili W
    , Oct 2017
    We had a humorous, witty and knowledgeable driver/ tour guide from Jucy named Eric. He ensured everyone in the coach was comfortable throughout the day. Worth the journey to marvel at mother nature's beauty.
    star-5
    Wow! What a world wonder! Is still...
    Di H
    , Feb 2017
    Wow! What a world wonder! Is still as magnificent as I remembered 20years ago when I was here. This time I booked through aviator, A very organized company, the coach was very comfortable and on time and made many interesting stops, I especially have to mention if you are lucky enough to travel with driver/guide Karl, He is full of knowledge about the area, telling us in a very enthusiastically manner, made the 12 hour trip very enjoyable and not long at all.

    Compare Similar Experiences

    Current
    Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour
    Milford Sound Cruise with Optional Bus Tour

    star-4.5189

    120 to 720 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $65.52

    star-4.5114

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $65.52

    star-4.563

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $85.38

    star-5331

    12 hours 30 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $118.47

    star-4.5138

    1 hour 45 minutes

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $65.52

    star-537

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $58.90

    star-5270

    13 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $164.80

    star-5769

    2 hours

    Free Cancellation

    From
    $61.85

    Explore Similar Things to Do